Like Our Facebook Fan Page

Seven APC Governors Ask Buhari To Seek Re-Election

Governors Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna State, Yahaya Bello of Kogi State, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano, Simon Lalong of Plateau State, Abubakar Bello of Niger State, Jibrilla Bindow of Adamawa State and Ibrahim Geidam of Yobe State declared their support for the President when they visited him in Abuja on Friday.

El-Rufai told journalists that their decision was influenced by their interest in continuity and policy stability. “We are politicians and those of us that you see here want the President to contest for a second term of office. So, everything is about 2019; there is no hiding that. We have no apologies for that,” he said after they – with the exception of Lalong – attended the Jumaat service with President Buhari.

“We believe in the President, we want him to keep running the country in the right direction. So, people can speculate about 2019; we have no apologies.” El-Rufai who said everyone is entitled to his opinion, added, “Most of us here, except the Governor of Yobe, are first-time governors. We are interested in continuity and policy stability, and we want the President to continue.”

Post a Comment