Like Our Facebook Fan Page

Cyril Ramaphosa 🗣Sworn in as 5⃣th President of 🇿🇦SA

South Africa has a new president in the person of Cyril Ramaphosa. The former trade unionist was sworn in on Thursday as the fifth president of the country.

Ramaphosa was elected unopposed as Zuma’s permanent successor by parliament, and declared duly elected by South African Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng.

He took office after Wednesday evening resignation of his former boss Jacob Zuma. Zuma agreed to step down after the ruling African National Congress (ANC) threatened to impeach him via parliament later today.

The post of South African president rests with the party that has a parliamentary majority. The ANC recalled Zuma as its deployee to the post earlier this week, Zuma said he disagreed with the decision but opted to respect it in the interest of party unity.

Post a Comment